The Manufacturer’s Chase

Steve Mickey - Nascar Columnist

Steve Mickey

The most often overlooked championship that NASCAR awards at the end of each season is the one that crowns the winning Sprint Cup manufacturer. It will never grab the headlines that the battle for the Sprint Cup driver’s title demands but for Chevrolet, Ford and Toyota executives it is a great source of pride that validates their involvement in the sport.

While the driver’s championship is an individual title, the manufacturer’s title is more of a team award as any individual team that competes in the series can win points for its manufacturer. Points are awarded to the single highest finisher for each car manufacturer in each Sprint Cup race according to the finishing position awarded for each race. Points range from 40 for winning the race down to 1 point for the last finishing car.

The Manufacturer’s Championship also has a bonus point system built into it. Each manufacturer is awarded three bonus points for a win and the highest finisher for each manufacturer can also pick up a bonus point for leading at least one lap or two if he/she leads the most laps. The bonus points are awarded after each race that awards driver’s bonus points with the exception of the final race of the season at Homestead where no bonus points are awarded to the drivers.

Chevrolet has had a strangle hold on the Manufacturer’s title in in recent years as it has claimed every championship beginning with the 2003 season. That is a record thirteen year streak that raises Chevrolet’s series leading all-time total to 39 championships. Ford won its last title in 2002 and trails Chevrolet in second place with 15. Toyota is the third manufacturer that competes in the series and it is yet to claim a title in the sport.

Even though Kyle Busch won last year’s driver’s championship in a Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, Chevrolet was able to claim the manufacturer’s based on its lineup’s overall strength that ended up with 15 wins compared to Toyota’s 14 and Ford’s 7 trips to victory lane. Three different organizations (Hendrick Motorsports, Stewart-Haas Racing and Furniture Row Racing) won races in Chevrolets, Toyota’s wins all came from Joe Gibbs Racing and Penske Racing accounted for all of Ford’s wins.

This season is beginning to shape up like Chevrolet’s grip on the manufacturer’s title may be in jeopardy as Toyota is looking more and more like it may be putting itself in a position to win its first ever title. After the first thirteen races of the season (not including Pocono), Toyota leads the series with eight wins with all but one being put up by Joe Gibbs Racing. Furniture Row Racing which beginning this season has a strong alliance with Gibbs has the other Toyota win. Chevrolet sits in second place with three wins (-31 points from the top) and Ford comes in third with two wins (46 points behind Chevrolet).

Winning the title doesn’t come cheap for the manufacturers as they invest millions in financial support, equipment and personnel. The real payback for their investment doesn’t rest with a trophy on the shelf at corporate headquarters; the real payback comes in car sells.

The old saying of “Win of Sunday, Sell on Monday” may not be as true as it once was in the sport but with race cars once again looking like what a customer can see in a dealer’s showroom, it does go a long way of getting those customers through the door.

Race Preview

Event: FireKeepers Casino 400

Track: Michigan International Speedway (2.0-mile D-shaped oval, 18o of banking in the turns)

Date: June 12, 1:00 pm


Radio: MRN

Defending Champion: Kurt Busch

Steve Mickey Mickey

Steve Mickey

Nascar Columnist

comments powered by Disqus