Logan’s Minnick captains 3A all-state

Paul Adkins/Civitas Media Logan’s Z. Minnick is shown in action. He is the captain of the Class AAA All-State baseball squad.

HUNTINGTON — All season long, it didn’t matter where Logan’s Zach Minnick was on the field.

Wherever he was, he was making an impact.

Minnick, who excelled defensively, at the plate and on the mound, earned the title of Class AAA first-team all-state captain, as voted on by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

For the year, Minnick finished with a .565 batting average with six home runs and 39 RBIs. He was just as effective on the mound, compiling a 7-2 record with 103 strikeouts and a 0.83 earned-run average in 59 innings.

Minnick headlined a Class AAA all-state team full of talent in 2015.

Hurricane, which was ranked No. 1 for much of the year before falling to Nitro in the Region 4 final, finished with three seniors on the first team — catcher Tate Brock (.534 average, eight home runs, 57 RBIs), infielder Trey Dawson (.404, 47 runs) and utility player J.T. Rogoszewski (.432, 23 RBIs; 7-1 record, 1.84 ERA, 78 strikeouts in 45 2/3 innings).

State champion Jefferson, which defeated Nitro 2-1 in the Class AAA championship game, had a pair of first-team representatives in senior pitcher Andy Disque (6-1, 1.25 ERA, 57 innings, 66 strikeouts) and junior infielder Paul Witt (.449, 35 RBIs, 50 runs).

Joining Disque as the first-team pitchers are Wheeling Park senior Michael Grove (5-2, 54 innings, 90 strikeouts, 1.86 ERA) and Riverside senior Brady Wilkinson (6-1, 2.29 ERA, 55 innings, 106 strikeouts).

Ripley junior Chris Jordan (.495, 36 RBIs, 47 runs) and Shady Spring junior Brian Schack (.521) joined Dawson and Witt as infielders on the first team.

Huntington senior Andrew Zban (.385, 25 RBIs, 28 runs), Nitro junior Matt Harrison (.420, 10 homers, 43 RBIs) and University senior Tristan Lucas (.500, 13 doubles, 34 runs) were the first-team outfielders.

Joining Rogoszewski as utility players on the first team were Hampshire senior David Delawder (.414, 26 RBIs, 34 runs; 4-1 record, 1.45 ERA) and South Charleston junior Trevor Sampson (.451, 26 RBIs, 39 runs; 9 1/3 innings, 18 strikeouts, 0.00 ERA).

Jefferson senior infielder Andrew King was captain of the second team. He was joined by South Charleston senior Antonio Brown, Huntington High junior Brice Leep and Greenbrier East senior Tyler Canterbury on the second-team infield.

Second-team pitchers were Nitro senior Kipp Brewer, Washington senior Ryan French and Woodrow Wilson freshman Michael Maiolo.

Outfielders were Spring Mills senior Cody Hammond, St. Albans senior Bobby Grishaver and Ripley senior Trevor Tucker. Second-team utility players were Spring Valley senior Zack Harvey, University senior Jeremy Eckels, Jefferson junior Charlie Barnholt and Brooke junior Fargo Camerlengo. The second-team catcher was Ripley sophomore Anthony Jarvis.


Class AAA All-State

Baseball Team

First team

P — Michael Grove, Wheeling Park, Sr.

P — Andy Disque, Jefferson, Sr.

P — Brady Wilkinson, Riverside, Sr.

C — Tate Brock, Hurricane, Sr.

IF — Trey Dawson, Hurricane, Sr.

IF — Chris Jordan, Ripley, Jr.

IF — Paul Witt, Jefferson, Jr.

IF — Brian Schack, Shady Spring, Jr.

OF — Andrew Zban, Huntington High, Sr.

OF — Matt Harrison, Nitro, Jr.

OF — Tristan Lucas, University, Sr.

UTIL — Zach Minnick, Logan, Sr. (capt.)

UTIL — David Delawder, Hampshire, Sr.

UTIL — Trevor Sampson, South Charleston, Jr.

UTIL — J.T. Rogoszewski, Hurricane, Sr.

Second team

P — Michael Maiolo, Woodrow Wilson, Fr.

P — Kipp Brewer, Nitro, Sr.

P — Ryan French, Washington, Sr.

C — Anthony Jarvis, Ripley, So.

IF — Andrew King, Jefferson, Sr. (Capt.)

IF — Antonio Brown, South Charleston, Sr.

IF — Tyler Canterbury, Greenbrier East, Sr.

IF — Brice Leep, Huntington High, Jr.

OF — Cody Hammond, Spring Mills, Sr.

OF — Bobby Grishaver, St. Albans, Sr.

OF — Trevor Tucker, Ripley, Sr.

UTIL — Jeremy Eckels, University, Sr.

UTIL — Zack Harvey, Spring Valley, Sr.

UTIL — Charlie Barnholt, Jefferson, Jr.

UTIL — Fargo Camerlengo, Brooke, Jr.

Special honorable mention

Jack Brunetti, Huntington High; Zac McNeel, Cabell Midland; John Bellomy, Winfield; Jared Hill, South Charleston; Casey Frye, Winfield; Jacob Bradley, Nitro; Connor Moffatt, George Washington; Mitchell Laton, St. Albans; Justin Crouch, Hurricane; Jacob Marler, South Charleston; Jeff Wong, George Washington; Tyler Shreve, Buckhannon-Upshur; Casey Kelly, Spring Valley; Ben Fulks, Huntington High; Bryson Fluke, Buckhannon-Upshur; Dylan Gump, Lewis County; Caleb Riggleman, Elkins; Brady Knapp, Woodrow Wilson; Daylon Colley, Greenbrier East; Brandon Thompson, Shady Spring; Ethan Boone, Greenbrier East; Derek Bloomfield, Oak Hill; Bradley Davis, Jefferson; Easton Berry, Ripley; Max Chefren, Parkersburg; J.T. Kemp, Parkersburg South; Tyler Shorter, Morgantown; Mitchell Henson, Martinsburg; George Delinski, Musselman; Will Oliver, Jefferson.

Honorable mention

Kirk Jennings, Cabell Midland; Jonah Wellman, Spring Valley; Luke Pudder, Lewis County; Hunter Chandler, St. Albans; Blake Stover, Hurricane; Andrew Stone, Nitro; Michael Lore, South Charleston; Trevor Smith, Riverside; Bryan Bosley, Winfield; Garrett Vogelbach, George Washington; David Gainer, Elkins; Grant Bates, Lincoln County; Bryton Jobe, Cabell Midland; Tyler Robertson, Spring Valley; Connor Nurse, Washington; Isaac Kemper, Lewis County; Brandon Tenney, Buckhannon-Upshur; Joseph Severino, Elkins; Hunter Halstead, Woodrow Wilson; Cole Tilley, Cabell Midland; Colby Johnson, Greenbrier East; Texas Cobb, Washington; Ricky Epperly, Oak Hill; John Lively, Shady Spring; Brandon Chandler, Woodrow Wilson; Robert Cross, Washington; Reece Fletcher, Parkersburg South; Jacob Goodnight, University; Sloan Nesbit, Morgantown; Bailey Black, John Marshall; Hunter Martin, Martinsburg; Cody Kesner, Hampshire; Trey Stamey, Musselman; Chris Ruppenthal, Hedgesville; Brody Price, Jefferson; Matt Mason, Spring Mills; Zac Burch, Washington; Taylor Kesner, Hampshire; Jonathan Pauley, South Charleston.

comments powered by Disqus