Farley and Grace win BOE race

By Courtney Pigman - [email protected]

WILLIAMSON – The unofficial results in the selection of members for the Mingo County Board of Education (BOE) from Tuesday’s W.Va. Primary Election have been announced.

According to the W.Va. Secretary of State’s Office, each county school system is governed by a five member nonpartisan board of education. No more than two members be may elected or serve from the same magisterial district.

Three of Mingo Counties’ six districts were represented in the race with candidates from the Lee, Tug-Hardee and Stafford District. No one filed for candidacy in the Beech Ben Mate, Kermit or Magnolia Districts.

James Dave Farley from the Lee District was up for reelection. From the Tug Hardee District candidates included Sabrina Grace, Donnie Canterbury, Nathan Hatfield, and Lossie Mahone. Larry Furguson and Jerry Lyall ran as candidates from the Stafford District.

From the list of candidates, voters could select two to serve as a member of the Mingo County BOE.

Encumbent James David Farley was victorious with 23.02 percent of the votes. Coming in second was Sabrina Grace with 18.86 percent of votes. Trailing behind Grace was Lossie Mahone with 16.85 percent of the votes and Nathan Hatfield with 14.38 percent of the votes. Behind Hatfield was Jerry Lyall with 10.74 percent of the votes, Larry Ferguson with 8.25 percent of the votes and Donnie Canterbury with 7.75 percent of the votes.

Official results will be announced as information becomes available.

Current BOE board members include Jackie Branch, June Glover, Hank Starr and Mark Colegrove.

The BOE members currently face a host of issues including budget cuts, layoffs, and declining student enrollment.

Those currently in office will continue to serve until the new term begins on June 1, 2016.

By Courtney Pigman

[email protected]

(Courtney Pigman is a news reporter for the Williamson Daily News. She can be contacted at [email protected], or 304-235-4242 ext. 2279.)

(Courtney Pigman is a news reporter for the Williamson Daily News. She can be contacted at [email protected], or 304-235-4242 ext. 2279.)


6:00 pm |    
Mingo indictments opened
3:30 pm |    
Rockslide injures two
7:25 am |    
MCRA spec house
comments powered by Disqus