Disaster assistance still available for residents


12 months 11 hours ago |412 Views | | | Email | Print


Staff Writer

Despite the last federal Diaster Recovery Center in West Virginia closing, the Federal Emergency Management Agency recently stated that its Help Line is still in business.

According to a press release from FEMA, Mingo, Logan, Lincoln, Harrison, Marion, Preston, Taylor and Wayne County residents are eligible for assistance.

“We are ready to help anyone who qualifies,” Charleston-based FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Deanne Criswell said. “Assistance is not dependent on your income or ability to pay. We can provide assistance to whoever is eligible.”

For those disaster survivors who have already registered for federal assistance, the Help Line is the place to follow the progress of one’s case, get answers to questions and help in navigating the assistance process. Call 800-621-3362 from 7 a.m. until 10 p.m.

The operators can also register those with disaster related damages. One can also sign up online at DisasterAssistance.gov.

Those affected by the storms and floods of Feb. 29 through March 5 have until May 15 to register with FEMA for assistance. For those who suffered loss or damage from the flooding of March 15 through March 31, the deadline to register is May 21.


comments powered by Disqus


Sponsored By:

Local Gas Prices

Lowest Gas Prices in Williamson
Williamson Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com

Featured Business