Marshall announces football open camp schedule


HUNTINGTON, W.Va. — Marshall football announced the open portion of its August camp schedule on Thursday.

Workouts begin Friday and the Aug. 7-21 practices are open to the public and will last approximately two hours apiece.

The Thundering Herd will host its Fan Day on Sunday, Aug. 16 from 4-6 p.m. on the turf at Joan C. Edwards Stadium. Admission is free, and free popcorn will be given to the first 500 fans along with a 2015 schedule poster. A limited edition schedule poster will also be offered to each season ticket account holder.

Ticket office representatives will be located at Gate A to conduct the final season ticket “Choose Your Seat” program. There will be several drawings for a variety of Marshall prizes, including a set of sideline passes for a game during the 2015 season.

Fans are asked to remain in the chairback sections on the west side of the stadium until the team heads to the east stands for the team photo. At that time, fans will be permitted to enter the field area for access to take a team photo in a designated area. Upon the completion of the team photo, student-athletes will be made available on the field for autographs.

A scrimmage on Saturday, Aug. 22 is scheduled at 3 p.m. and will be open only to Big Green members and Marshall students. During the scrimmage, MU students will have the opportunity to sign up to be a Marshall Maniac if they have not already done so. A free hotdog and drink will be offered to all Marshall students who attend the scrimmage. Students must present a valid MU ID to gain admittance. Those wishing to join the Big Green will be able to do so by visiting customer service representatives at Gate A.

Marshall opens the 2015 season on Sunday, Sept. 6 at 3 p.m. when Purdue visits Edwards Stadium (FS1 telecast). The Boilermakers are the first Big Ten Conference football visitor to Huntington in Herd history.

Open Practice Schedule:

Friday, Aug. 7 — 9:45 a.m., 3:45 p.m. (two split squad workouts first four days)

Saturday, Aug. 8 — 9:45 a.m., 3:45 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 9 — 9:45 a.m., 3:45 p.m.

Monday, Aug. 10 – 9:45 a.m., 3:45 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 11 — 2:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 12 – 9:15 a.m., 4 p.m.

Thursday, Aug. 13 – 2:30 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 14 — 9:15 a.m., 4 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 15 — 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 16- Fan Day (4-6 p.m.; gates open at 3:30 p.m.)

Monday, Aug. 17 – 2:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 18 — 9:15 a.m., 4 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 19 – 2 p.m.

Thursday, Aug. 20 – 6:05 a.m.

Friday, Aug. 21 – 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 22-3 p.m. (Scrimmage; gates open at 2:30 p.m.)

http://williamsondailynews.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/web1_Herd-Logo-2-.jpg
comments powered by Disqus