WILLIAMSON, W.Va. – Yogi Croaff, Chief Court Marshall with the Mingo County Courthouse wants to make sure everyone is aware of the new changes in the West Virginia Concealed Handgun Laws which went into effect May 24.
West Virginia residents between 18 and 21 years of age are required to obtain a provisional Concealed Handgun License (CHL), residents 21 years and older CHLs are optional. However, neighboring states such as Kentucky, Virginia, Ohio and Pennsylvania still require a Concealed Weapon Permit (CWP), so if you are a W. Va. resident and plan to travel out of state it would be beneficial to you to obtain your CHL.
Court Marshall Croaff is an instructor with the National Rifle Association (NRA) and emphasizes he believes everyone has right to keep and bear arms, unfortunately due to volatile situations in both the family and circuit court system weapons will not be permitted in the courthouse, if you enter the building with a weapon in your possession, you will asked to surrender your weapon to officials, or take the weapon back to your vehicle. Anyone who fails to comply with this request will be escorted to the Sherriff’s Office and detained. Croaff stresses “public safety is our No. 1 concern”.
For more information about the changes in the new CHL, copies of “On the Mark: A Guide to Concealed Handgun Laws in West Virginia” is available at the Mingo County Courthouse or online at www.wvago.gov.
Anyone wishing to obtain a CHL permit can contact the Mingo County Sheriff’s Department for a list of available classes. Cost for permit is $40.00 for 18 to 20 years old, the permit will expire on your 21st birthday, 21 years and older permit cost is $100.00 and has to be renewed every five years at a cost of $100.00 for renewal. A price for the class varies by instructor and is in addition to the cost of the permit.
(Kendra Mahon is a reporte for the Gilbert Times and Williamson Daily News. She can be contacted a [email protected])