Canvass results

By Courtney Pigman - [email protected]

WILLIAMSON – The Mingo County Commission and the Mingo County Clerk’s Office held the official vote canvass for the May 10 Primary Election Monday morning.

A representative from the Secretary of State’s office was in attendance to observe the canvass which took more than seven hours to complete.

The official vote totals are listed below.

For Prosecuting Attorney, Jonathan Duke Jewell came out ahead against incumbent Teresa Maynard taking home 3,701 votes. Maynard took home 2,766 votes.

In the three way Sheriff race, incumbent James M. Smith was the voter favorite with 3,311 votes. Earl Spence came in second with 2,057 votes and Barry Blair came in last with 1,427 votes.

In the Assessor’s race, Ramona Mahon won with 4,967 votes. Amber Mounts Bishop took home 1,456 votes.

Jimmy Lee Webb ran unopposed in the Surveyor race and took home 4, 359 votes.

Justin Marcum ran against Ronnie L. Blankenship for the House of Delegates in the 20th Delegate District. Justin Marcum came out ahead with 2,372 votes compared to Blankenship’s 1,777 votes. There is also a precinct from Logan County for this race, which is the Holden area.

For the 21st Delegate District, Phyllis White was victorious against Vivian Livingood. White took home 1,295 votes. Livingood had 1,160 votes.

In the Circuit Clerk race, Lonnie Hannah was the voter favorite with 2, 498 votes. Camilla Walters Ellis came in second with 1,888 votes, Billy Sammons had 1,661 votes and Brandy Baisden Haney had 713 votes.

In the race for County Commissioner, Thomas Taylor upset incumbent John Mark Hubbard with 3,373 votes compared to Hubbard’s 2,828 votes. Marvin Vernatter came in last with 285 votes.

For Circuit Judge, incumbent Miki Thompson was the voter favorite with 4,312 votes. Teresa McCune came in second with 2,128 votes. Robert Carlton came in last with 1,343 votes. There were also nine write in votes.

Incumbent Sabrina Deskins won the race for Family Court Judge with 4,457 votes. Tonya Mounts Hatfield took home 3,401 votes. There were six write in votes.

In the Division One Magistrate race, Donald Sansom was victorious with 3,203 votes. Brock Mounts came in second with 2,348 votes and Billy Sexton received 1,938 votes. There were 14 write in votes.

In the Division Two Magistrate race, Dave Justice beat out Barry Marcum with 3,464 votes. Marcum had 3,160 votes. James “Tick” Fugett had 738 votes. There were six write in votes.

In the Division Three Magistrate race, incumbent Jim Harvey was the voter favorite with 3,324 votes. Scott “Big Block” Smith came in second with 2,100 votes followed by Michele Webb with 1,400 votes. Donald Stevens took home 732 votes. There were 11 write in votes.

In the Non-Partisan Board of Education race, James David Farley came in first with 2,680 votes. Sabrina Grace followed with 2,196 votes. Lossie Mahone had 1,961 votes followed by Nathan Hatfield with 1,675 votes and Jerry Lyall with 1,254 votes. Larry Ferguson had 960 votes and Donald Canterbury had 903 votes. There were 11 write in votes.

There were 38 precincts counted in the Primary Election. The total number of registered voters in Mingo County is 20,435. In the Republican Party, there are 2,233 registered voters. There are 15,415 registered voters in the Democratic Party. There are 2,787 registered nonpartisan voters. The total number of ballots casts totaled 8,437. 1,310 ballots were cast for the Republican Party and 7,057 were cast for the Democratic Party.

By Courtney Pigman

[email protected]

(Courtney Pigman is a news reporter for the Williamson Daily News. She can be contacted at [email protected] or at 304-235-4242 ext. 2279.)

(Courtney Pigman is a news reporter for the Williamson Daily News. She can be contacted at [email protected] or at 304-235-4242 ext. 2279.)

comments powered by Disqus