More candidates file in Mingo County

Several more candidates filed on the final day to run in the upcoming May 10, Primary Election for Mingo County.

Camilla Ellis, a democrat, has filed to run for Circuit Clerk in the county.

Marvin Vernatter filed to run for County Commissioner as a Democrat.

William “Billy” Sexton, Michelle Webb-Messerian and Randy Wallace Baisden both filed to run for Magistrate. Magistrates are now non-partisan candidates and are in three Divisions and will be elected in the primary election. They will not run in the General Election in November. (This is similar to the board of education elections.)

The same goes for the Circuit Judge, which is now a non-partisan race. Another person has filed for that position. Teresa McCune has thrown her hat in the ring for judge. She is a longtime public defender for Mingo County.

Lossie Mahone, a former educator, filed to run for Board of Education (BOE). Jerry Lyall, a local attorney also filed for BOE, along with Donnie Canterbury.

Longtime County Surveyor Jimmy Webb filed for that position. He is the only person who filed for that office.

Republican Mike Baisden has filed for the House of Delegates in District 20. Another Republican who filed is Martin Fortner, who will run for sheriff in Mingo County.

Here are the candidates who previously filed to run for local offices:

Circuit Clerk: Brandy Nicole Haney, William “Billy” Sammons and Lonnie Hannah.

County Clerk: “Big” Jim Hatfield and Larry “Yogi” Croaff.

Prosecuting Attorney: Johnathan “Duke” Jewell and Teresa Maynard.

Assessor: Ramona Mahon and Amber Mounts Bishop.

Sheriff: James Smith, Earl Spence and Barry Blair.

County Commissioner: John Mark Hubbard and Thomas Taylor.

Board of Education (Non Partisan): Nathan Hatfield, James David Farley, Larry Ferguson and Sabrina Grace.

Magistrate: (Non Partisan)

Division One – Ricky Brock Mounts and Donald Sansom.

Division Two – James Fugitt, Barry Marcum and David Justice

Division Three – Jim Harvey, Donald Stevens and Floyd Scott Smith.

House of Delegates:

District 20 – Justin Marcum and Ronnie Blankenship. (Democrat)

District 21 – Vivian Livingood and Phyllis White. (Democrat)

District 21 – Roger Stacy and Mark Dean. (Republican)

State Senate: Brandon Barker (Dem) and Chandler Swope (Rep.).

Family Court Judge (Non Partisan): District 8: Sabrina Deskins and Tonya (Mounts) Hatfield.

Circuit Judge – Division One, Circuit 30 (Non Partisan): Miki Thompson and Robert Carlton.

Other races up for grabs are U.S. Congressional seats and several state offices. Those state offices include Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Treasurer, Commissioner of Agriculture, Auditor and U.S. Supreme Court.

On the national level political parties will nominate presidential candidates and several have filed in the state of West Virginia.

The General Election is Tuesday, November 8.

(Editor’s Note: If there are any candidates who are not in the above list please contact the newspaper to be added to the list.)

(Kyle Lovern is the Editor for the Williamson Daily News. He can be contacted at [email protected] or at 304-235-4242, ext. 2277 or on Twitter @KyleLovern.)


10:24 am |    
One church ties two counties
1:26 pm |    
Mingo drug sweep
8:00 am
Updated: 8:00 am. |    
Road projects planned
comments powered by Disqus