Belfry Middle football team wins another state title

By Kyle Lovern

November 5, 2013

Kyle Lovern

Sports Editor

In 2003, and then again in 2004, Belfry High School won back to back state football championships.

Fast forward to 2012 and 2013, and Belfry Middle School did the same thing, as the little Pirates won another state title this past weekend in Lexington by beating Wayne County, Ky. 28-6 in the Division 2 championship game.

On Saturday, BMS defeated Barrett 30-8 in the semi-finals to advance to the championship game on Sunday afternoon at Lexington Bryan Station.

The game featured the two top seeded middle school teams. Belfry, known for its ground and pound offense, bombed the Cardinals with an aerial assault.

On Belfry’s first series, quarterback Avery Browning hooked up with Devin Varney for a 58 yard TD reception. Justin Adkins ran it in for the 2-point conversion to give the Pirates an early 8-0 lead.

In the second quarter the teams traded possessions and there was no further scoring. The score ended 8-0 at the half.

Belfry received the football to start the third quarter and wasted little time scoring. Browning connected with Mikey Sesco on a 48 yard strike. Varney tacked on the conversion run to give the young Bucs a 16-0 lead.

Wayne County marched down the field on their next possession. They scored on a five yard pass. The conversion failed and the scored stood at 16-6.

The Pirates wasted no time extending their lead. On the ensuing kickoff, Belfry’s Taveon Hunter electrified the crowd with an 80 yard TD return. BMS led 22-6.

Belfry got one final score as Varney hit pay-dirt from one yard out. The kick failed, but the Pirates coasted to the 28-6 win.

Varney led Belfry with 51 rushing yards on just four carries. He also had the 58 yard TD reception. Sesco had the 48 yard TD catch. Adkins had 13 yards on two carries and Derrick Wellman 12 yards on six carries. Browning was 2-of-3 attempts passing for 106 yards. He also recovered a fumble and returned it 31 yards to give BMS good field position.

Defensively The Pirates were led by Preston Stump with 10 tackles, followed by Wellman with 8, Adkins with 5, while Josh Keathley, Zack Curry, Zack Gibbs and Chase Runyon each had four stops.

Belfry ended the season with a fine record of 14-2. They were also Pike County Champs. Belfry is coached by Elbert Thacker and he is assisted by Jeremy Howard, Erik Rash Herbie Dotson, Cody West, Andrew Elkins, Gary Hall, Ivan Lee, Mark Cook, Jody Bailey, James Hardin, Freddie Lewis and Tyler Williams.

Semi-finals; Belfry 30, Barrett 8

The Belfry Middle School Pirates advanced to the championship game of the Division Two state championship with a 30-8 win over Barrett.

The young Bucs had two early turnovers, but overcame those miscues to pull out the win.

On Belfry’s first possession they went 73 yards to get their first score. The drive was capped off by a 23 yard touchdown run by Devin Varney. The conversion run by Varney made it 8-0.

On the Hilltoppers next possession, the Pirates blocked a punt, however they gave the football right back to Barrett on a fumble from the first play from scrimmage.

The Pirates defense forced yet another punt, but the ball was tipped by BMS and Barrett recovered.

On Belfry’s next possession, they had a nice 76 yard, 7-play drive which ended in a Varney TD run from 13 yards out. Justin Adkins conversion run gave the young Pirates a 16-0 lead at the half.

In the second half, Varney broke free and bolted 68 yards to pay-dirt. The Ryan Jessie PAT attempt was wide left, but BMS led 22-0.

The Pirates final scored came when Taveon Hunter scored on a five yard run. The conversion made it 30-0.

The Hilltoppers managed a late TD pass and 2-point conversion on the Pirate reserves to cut the lead to 30-8.

Offensively the Pirates were led by Varney with 128 yards on six carries and three TDs and a 2-point conversion. Adkins rushed for 63 yards on five carries. He also hauled in a pass for 21 yards.

Defensively BMS was led by Preston Stump and Derrick Wellman, each of them had nine tackles. Josh Keathley had seven tackles and Mikey Sesco six.